Awards, Lighting Design

Two Lighting Design Award Programs Now Accepting Entries

Two lighting design award programs have announced that they are currently accepting entries:

The first is The New York City Section of the IES Lumen 2023 Awards. Submission Deadline: January 13, 2023. Since 1968, the IESNYC Lumen Awards program has publicly recognized lighting design members whose exceptional professionalism, ingenuity and originality in lighting design has culminated in some of the world’s most innovative lighting projects. IESNYC invites you to submit your most innovative, inspiring, and outstanding lighting designs. Awards are presented in the following categories:

Lumen Award of Excellence
Highest level of achievement for a permanent architectural application

Lumen Award of Merit
Meritorious achievement for permanent architectural application

Lumen Citation
Special recognition for a permanent or temporary lighting installation, technical detail, portion of a single project, or other work.

For details on Eligibility, Submission Requirements, Rules, Schedule, and Helpful Tips click on this link. This link can also be found on the website.

2023 IESNYC Lumen Awards Project Eligibility – The Lumen Awards are open to any interior or exterior architectural lighting design project completed within two years’ time of the submission deadline of January 13, 2023.
Projects may be re-submitted during the years a project is eligible.

Anyone can enter a project for consideration, but wherever possible, we require the lighting designer responsible for the lighting scheme be credited.

Eligible projects must be designed by a New York City* based designer(s) for a project located anywhere in the world.  —OR—  The project must be located in New York City* regardless of the location of the designer(s).

*Within the five boroughs of NYC and counties of Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Ulster, and Westchester.


The second award program taking entries is the International Lighting Design Awards. On November 1st, 2022, the IALD released the Call for Entries for the 40th Annual IALD International Lighting Design Awards and their online submission site. You create a profile on the IALD Awards submission site to begin your entry.

EARLY ENTRY DEADLINE: 14 December 2022, 11:59 P.M. Chicago/US Central
REGULAR ENTRY DEADLINE: 31 January 2023, 11:59 P.M. Chicago/US Central
EXTENDED/LATE ENTRY DEADLINE: 15 February 2023, 11:59 P.M. Chicago/US Central

You can download the submission guide HERE.

You can find the Call for Entries submission page HERE.

author avatar
David Shiller
David Shiller is the Publisher of LightNOW, and President of Lighting Solution Development, a North American consulting firm providing business development services to advanced lighting manufacturers. The ALA awarded David the Pillar of the Industry Award. David has co-chaired ALA’s Engineering Committee since 2010. David established MaxLite’s OEM component sales into a multi-million dollar division. He invented GU24 lamps while leading ENERGY STAR lighting programs for the US EPA. David has been published in leading lighting publications, including LD+A, enLIGHTenment Magazine, LEDs Magazine, and more.


Lightovation – Dallas Market Center
IALD Enlighten Europe
IES 24 – The Lighting Conference
ArchLIGHT Summit
American Lighting Association Annual Conference
Click For More


Colonial Electric – Inside Sales -Remote.