Legislation + Regulation

Effective Dates For 7 States Banning Fluorescent Lamps

Effective Dates For 7 States Banning Fluorescent Lamps


Colorado recently became the seventh state to ban nearly all fluorescent lamps. The other six states are: California, Hawaii, Maine, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Vermont. The above chart shows the effective dates for each state’s phaseout of screw-based CFLs, as well as pin-based CFLs & linear fluorescent tubes.

All of the fluorescent lamp bans are based on mercury content rather than efficiency in order to avoid preemption by U.S. DOE appliance efficiency standards. More information from ACEEE is available here.

author avatar
David Shiller
David Shiller is the Publisher of LightNOW, and President of Lighting Solution Development, a North American consulting firm providing business development services to advanced lighting manufacturers. The ALA awarded David the Pillar of the Industry Award. David has co-chaired ALA’s Engineering Committee since 2010. David established MaxLite’s OEM component sales into a multi-million dollar division. He invented GU24 lamps while leading ENERGY STAR lighting programs for the US EPA. David has been published in leading lighting publications, including LD+A, enLIGHTenment Magazine, LEDs Magazine, and more.


IES 24 – The Lighting Conference
ArchLIGHT Summit
American Lighting Association Annual Conference
SALC IES – Street & Area Lighting Conference
DLC Controls Summit
Click For More