The Illuminating Engineering Society New York City (IESNYC) has selected two graduate students – Katrina Matejcik, a candidate in the MFA Interior Design and Lighting Design programs at Parsons School of Design at the New School (Parsons) and Dianna Osickey, a candidate in the MPS Lighting Design (MPSL) program at the New York School of Interior (NYSID) – as recipients of the 2021 IESNYC Merit Scholarship. Each student will receive an award of $25,000.

Now in this fifth year, the Scholarship is open to full-time, graduate degree candidates in architectural lighting who are enrolled in an accredited college or university located in New York State. The Scholarship was created to help alleviate the economic burden of receiving a graduate school education for deserving students. In addition to the monetary award, the Scholarship provides for membership and mentoring opportunities.

Katrina Matejcik graduated from the University of Minnesota in 2015 with a Bachelor of Design in Architecture and minors in Product Design, Urban Studies, and Art. After graduating, Katrina worked in Minneapolis, MN, at multiple architecture firms, a custom design-build furniture workshop, and collaborated with other young designers on civic-focused, non-profit design projects. At Parsons, she is pursuing a double major in both Lighting and Interior Design with a minor in Civic Service Design.

Dianna Osickey, AIA, LC, LEED AP, graduated with a Bachelor of Architecture from the University of Tennessee in 2008. Upon graduation, she practiced architecture in Knoxville, TN for several for several years before making a shift to lighting. In addition to attending NYSID, she is currently a regional sales representative for SESCO Lighting and has been involved in the lighting of projects ranging from a residential cabin to university projects and parkscapes.

The Scholarship is administered by the IESNYC Scholarship Committee. In addition to McKenzie, Committee Members include Mike Barr (Lutron), and President of the IESNYC, Stephen Bernstein (CBB Lighting Design), Pete Jacobson (Con Edison, retired), Addison Kelly (US Lighting Consultants), and Zachary Pearson (FMS).

Committee members and Megan Carroll (New York Digital) and Section Vice President, and Phil Cialdella (Light Abilities) comprised the 2021 jury.