Codes + Standards

Cybersecurity-Related Additions to DLC NLC5

The DesignLights Consortium (DLC) recently announced two additions to its Networked Lighting Controls (NLC) Technical Requirements, Version 5. These additions became effective December 22, 2021.

These are:

  • The DLC now recognizes the PSA-certified cybersecurity standard with Chip Level 2 or 3 certification and with System Level 1, 2, or 3, and Device Level 1, 2, or 3 certification. This certification may now be used to meet the NLC5 cybersecurity requirement.
  • The DLC now recognizes accredited certifications from an organization accredited as “Management Systems Certification Bodies” by the International Accreditation Service (IAS) as valid proof of compliance with the ISO 27001 cybersecurity standard.

NLC5 becomes required February 28, 2022. Products that comply with NLC4 but not NLC5 will be de-listed.

Click here to learn more.


Lightovation – Dallas Market Center
Light + Building 2024
LEDucation 2024
LightSPEC West
Lightovation – Dallas Market Center
Click For More


Colonial Electric – Inside Sales -Remote.








%d bloggers like this: