Lighting for Tomorrow launched its 11th consecutive annual competition at the Dallas Market, January 17-20, 2013.

Lighting for Tomorrow, launched in 2002, is organized by the American Lighting Association (ALA), the Consortium for Energy Efficiency (CEE) and UL. About two dozen energy efficiency organizations in the US and Canada have pledged approximately $100,000 to sponsor this latest competition.

For the first time, Lighting for Tomorrow will award bonus points to lighting designed to meet the needs of the growing senior market and invite organic light emitting diode (OLED) luminaires to submit as part of the solid state lighting competition.

Lighting for Tomorrow will also continue to build on the momentum from previous competitions for lighting control products including stand-alone, system-based and whole house devices as well as LED luminaires for specific applications, retrofit kits and replacement lamps.

Lighting Controls Competition in Fourth Year

Lighting for Tomorrow has been furthering the controllability of energy-efficient lighting for several years. In 2008, the fluorescent fixture competition requested that all CFL-equipped chandeliers be able to dim. Following this advance, a fluorescent dimming competition in 2009 sought good quality dimming in both fixtures and CFLs. In 2010 and 2011, Lighting for Tomorrow pushed the lighting world a step further with a lighting controls competition that requires lighting control devices to be compatible with fluorescent or LED technology, which will be continued in 2013. The judging panel will be evaluating products based on functionality, ease of installation and use, innovation, and ability to work with other systems and existing luminaires. Past winners include Legrand, Leviton, and Lutron Electronics.

Solid State Lighting Competition in Eighth Year

For the last seven years, the Lighting for Tomorrow competition has stimulated development in SSL products. Since its launch in 2006, the competition has seen a tremendous increase in the quantity and quality of light emitting diode (LED) products, and aims to continue moving this market by awarding the top performing products every year. The competition is widening its scope in 2013 with the inclusion of OLED fixtures, and continuing with a broad range of residential LED products such as fixtures, retrofit kits, and replacement lamps. Entries in this competition will be judged on the basis of lighting performance, marketability, and energy efficiency. In 2012, seven winners, ten honorable mentions, and one special award were selected including manufacturers AFX Lighting, Cooper Lighting, Hinkley Lighting, Tech Lighting, OSRAM SYLVANIA and Lighting Science Group.

Timeline and Submissions

The first deadline for entries is April 5, 2013. Winners will be announced during an award ceremony at the ALA Conference,September 24, 2013 in Austin, TX and will be eligible to be promoted by energy efficiency programs across the US and Canada during the following year.

Click here for complete guidelines and rules for the 2013 competition.