Philanthropy & Community Service

Nuckolls Fund Distributes $130,500 In Grants For 2022

In March, The Nuckolls Fund announced its 2022 Fund recipients. A total of $130,500 was awarded for 2022. Included in that total are three $30,000 Nuckolls Grants recipients to expand lighting criteria, one $7,500 Lesley Wheel Grant to develop a new curriculum, one $13,000 Edison Price Fellowship for a summer internship, and four $5000 Student Achievement Awards.

Nuckolls Fund 2022 Grant Summary

Nuckolls Fund – $30,000 each

  • University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, by Jake Tucci
  • School of Architecture and Design at Virginia Tech, by James Jones and Ron Gibbons
  • Mississippi State University, by Robin Carroll.

Lesley Wheel Grant – $7,500

  • Victoria McReyolds, Texas Tech.

Edison Price Fellowship – $13,000

  • Arpah Guha from Lawrence Technological University at the Light and Health Research Center at Mount Sinai

Student Achievement Awards – $5,000 each

  • Sachintha De Vas Gunawardena, Rensselaer Polytechnique
  • Wangyang Song, Pennsylvania State University
  • Makayla Thompson, University of Nebraska/Lincoln
  • Paola Kwan, University of Colorado/Boulder

Learn more at EdisonReport here.


author avatar
David Shiller
David Shiller is the Publisher of LightNOW, and President of Lighting Solution Development, a North American consulting firm providing business development services to advanced lighting manufacturers. The ALA awarded David the Pillar of the Industry Award. David has co-chaired ALA’s Engineering Committee since 2010. David established MaxLite’s OEM component sales into a multi-million dollar division. He invented GU24 lamps while leading ENERGY STAR lighting programs for the US EPA. David has been published in leading lighting publications, including LD+A, enLIGHTenment Magazine, LEDs Magazine, and more.


IES 24 – The Lighting Conference
ArchLIGHT Summit
American Lighting Association Annual Conference
SALC IES – Street & Area Lighting Conference
DLC Controls Summit
Click For More